Category: News

(Nashville, TN) February 19, 2021 — Internationally acclaimed guitarist, vocalist, songwriter Damon Johnson debuts his new band, The Get Ready, with the release of ‘Battle Lessons’ on February 19, 2021 via Double Dragon Records. In addition to streaming on all major digital platforms, fans can purchase a physical copy of the ‘Battle Lessons’ CD and Vinyl at

The collection was made possible with the assistance of  an Indiegogo pre-order helping to support the recording of Johnson and his new trio, The Get Ready (Jarred Pope on drums and Robbie Harrington on bass joining Johnson). Battle Lessons was recorded in Damon’s adopted hometown of Nashville, produced and mixed by multi-platinum producer/mixer, Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Alice in Chains, Evanescence, Rush, Stone Sour and more). The title track and debut single from the project was a smash on the Classic Rock Chart for several weeks climbing to lucky  #13 on that chart. 

Rock fans know Johnson’s name from his years of scorching stages worldwide as lead guitarist in the Alice Cooper band, and later with Thin Lizzy and the Lizzy-offshoot Black Star Riders, in addition to fronting the potent ‘90s Southern rock band Brother Cane. Johnson’s songs have been recorded and sung by stars like Stevie Nicks and Steven Tyler.

WithBattle Lessons’, Johnson returns to his original hard-rock sound, feeding that fire he first discovered as a teenager playing Van Halen and AC/DC covers while in garage bands.  Featuring nine newly written songs, the tracks are just as much about clever lyrics and sticky melodies as eyelash-searing guitars. “These are as good of songs as I’ve been a part of creating, ever in my whole career,” Johnson says.  And that’s saying something – as singer/guitarist, and frontman of Brother Cane, the Birmingham, Alabama rock band who notched a string of ’90s rock hits, including “Got No Shame,” “I Lie In The Bed I Make” and chart-topper “And Fools Shine On.”

‘Battle Lessons’ is anchored by a searing title track. The song casts Johnson’s gutsy vocals and razor riffs over presto grooves by The Get Ready drummer Jarred Pope (Tom Keifer) and bassist Robbie Harrington (Steve Vai.) Expectedly, there’s a supersonic guitar solo ripping through the cut. Johnson elite six-strings supercharge the entireBattle Lessons’ album. But the guitars always serve the songs and never just for flash.

Early response to the album has been fantastic, hailed by diverse outlets such as; Guitar World, Goldmine, Ultimate Classic Rock, Metal Injection in addition to Johnson’s hometown paper, The Birmingham News which wrote On his new album, Damon Johnson is throwing thunderbolts: Hard-rock songs with choruses that stick to you like Velcro; die-on-that-hill conviction in the performances and vocals; and, of course, since Johnson’s involved, electric guitar playing that cuts through steel.”  

Battle Lessons Tracklist:
  1. Battle Lessons
  2. Can’t Clap Any Louder
  3. Talk Yourself Into Anything 
  4. Shadow Country
  5. Let the Healing Begin
  6. Brace For Impact
  7. Lightning Bolt (Everything Will Be Alright)
  8. Love is All You Left Behind
  9. Casual Beast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *